Follow us

29/11/2023 10:57 am

Download Our App

Home » Gallery » Capturing a Decade: First Tri-City Photojournalists Awards and Exhibition

Capturing a Decade: First Tri-City Photojournalists Awards and Exhibition

Chandigarh :

Work by 23 photojournalists, along with photographs taken by 6 journalists and an illustrator, has been featured in an exhibition at the Underpass Gallery

Chandigarh: Hindustan Times photojournalist Keshav Singh and Dainik Bhaskar lensman Jaswinder Singh received the top honors—a trophy and a cash award of Rs 25,000 each—in the first Tri-City Photo Journalists Awards cum Exhibition, jointly organized by Chandigarh Lalit Kala Academy and Chandigarh Press Club.

The felicitation ceremony for the photojournalists took place during the inauguration of the exhibition at the Underpass gallery, connecting Sector 17 market and Rose Garden, on Tuesday.

Amar Ujala photographers Karun Sharma and Dinesh Bhardwaj, The Tribune photojournalist Vicky Gharu, Indian Express’ Kameshwar Singh, and freelancer Viney Malik also won trophies and cash awards of Rs 10,000 each. Additionally, 16 other photojournalists received appreciation awards for their work, which was shortlisted for the 10-day exhibition.

A special category was included for journalists, who are not press photographers and are members of the Chandigarh Press Club. In this category, Charanjeet Kaur of Punjabi Tribune received the consolation prize. Furthermore, the work of five other journalists and an illustrator was shortlisted, and they were also honored with appreciation awards.

The photo exhibition is a remarkable celebration of visual storytelling and artistic expression. 

Themed “Best of the Decade,” the exhibition showcased the most compelling moments captured over the last ten years, offering a unique glimpse into the defining events and emotions of the past decade.

The participating photojournalists were tasked with presenting their interpretations of the most significant events, societal changes, cultural shifts, natural calamities, violence, and human experiences that shaped the past ten years. 

The theme encouraged a broad spectrum of storytelling, from heartwarming moments to thought-provoking images, capturing the essence of life over the years.

This prestigious event saw the participation of 23 photojournalists from Chandigarh, Panchkula, and Mohali, who presented their finest works, with a total of 70 frames. Additionally, there was a special category for journalists other than press photographers, and in this category, 10 journalists submitted 30 works. 

Out of 100 submitted works, the jury selected 45 captivating photographs for display.

The 45 photographs on display offered a diverse range of perspectives, and each photograph is a testament to the power of visual storytelling.

The Jury’s Selection: The selection process for this exhibition was meticulously conducted by an esteemed panel of judges, both prominent figures in the field of photojournalism. T Narayan, the former Photo Editor of Hindustan Times, and Swadesh Talwar, the former Photo Editor of Indian Express, Chandigarh, lent their expert eyes to curate the exhibition’s final collection. Their vast experience and keen insights played a crucial role in handpicking the most impactful and visually stunning photographs.

Appreciation award (Photojournalist category) 

Ashwani Rana (Danik Bhaskar), Balish Ahuja (Times of India), Jai Pal Singh (Ex Indian Express) , Karnail Singh Rana (Punjab Kesar), Nitin Mittal (The Tribune), Pankaj Sharma (Freelancer), Parvesh Chauhan (Freelancer), Ravi Kumar (Hindustan Times), Ravi Kumar (The Tribune), Sanjay Ghildiyal (Danik Jagran), Sanjeev Sharma (Hindustan Times)Sant Arora (Hindustan Times), Santokh Singh (Freelancer), Tejinder Singh Bedi (Freelancer), Upendra Sen Gupta (Danik Jagran), Madhup Yadav (Danik Bhaskar)

Appreciation award (journalist category- other than press photographers)

Sandeep Joshi (The Tribune), Arshdeep Kaur (Independent journalist), Asha Arpit (Independent Journalist), Mona (The Tribune), Inderjit Kaur (Punjabi Tribune)

dawn punjab
Author: dawn punjab

Leave a Comment