Follow us

24/05/2024 7:36 pm

Close this search box.
Home » Chandigarh » Annual Prize Distribution Ceremony at Dev Samaj College for Women

Annual Prize Distribution Ceremony at Dev Samaj College for Women

The prestigious Annual Prize Distribution ceremony at Dev Samaj College for Women, Sector 45-B, Chandigarh, unfolded with grandeur and enthusiasm on April 20, 2024, within the serene premises of the college. The event, marked by a spirit of celebration and achievement, witnessed the convergence of eminent personalities from the academic and administrative realms.

The distinguished Chief Guest for the occasion was Sh. Rahul Gupta (IAS), Additional Secretary of Agriculture & Medical Education and Research, Vice-Chancellor of Guru Ravidas Ayurved University, Hoshiarpur, and Controller, Printing and Stationery, Punjab. Alongside him, the event was graced by esteemed dignitaries, including Shriman Nirmal Singh Dhillon, Chairman of the Dev Samaj College Managing Committee, Dr. Agnese Dhillon, Member of Dev Samaj Council and Secretary of College Management Committee, and Shri Maanvinder Singh Mangat, Joint Secretary and Chief Administrative Officer of Dev Samaj. Prof. (Dr.) Neeru Malik, the Principal of the college, added further eminence to the gathering. The chief guest was greeted with a planter by the principal and other dignitaries present for the occasion. Philanthropists Dr. Sukhmehar Singh, Retired Professor from the Department of Chemical Engineering, and Dr. Jasleen Kaur from Department of Computer Science, Panjab University, and Harleen Kaur were specially invited for this occasion.

In his address, the Chief Guest lauded the efforts of the college management, faculty, and students for orchestrating such a magnificent event. He expressed his confidence in the event’s resounding success, underscoring the importance of such celebrations in recognizing and fostering academic and extracurricular excellence.

The ceremony witnessed the felicitation of numerous achievers, reflecting the college’s commitment to holistic development. Notably, nine rolls of honour were bestowed upon outstanding performers in sports, while 49 college colours were awarded to students excelling in various disciplines, including 23 sports and 26 cultural activities. A total of 216 certificates of excellence in academics, along with certificates of merit, were distributed, recognizing the scholarly pursuits of the students.

The spotlight shone brightly on several exceptional feats, with students clinching accolades at various levels of competition. Standout achievements included a Gold medal in Kabaddi (team), a gold in the 10-km walk at the inter-college level, and an individual Gold in Senior State Level Taekwondo, coupled with a bronze at the National level by Sapna. Additionally, commendations were extended to Reema, of a Gold in senior state 10-km walk and a silver in Wushu.

Undoubtedly, the highlight of the ceremony was the acknowledgment of two university position holders, namely Preeti Singh of B.Voc. (a gold medallist in 2022-23) and Samiun Nesa of BCA Semester 5, who secured the top position in the university’s December 2022 examinations. Their remarkable academic prowess stood as a testament to the college’s unwavering dedication to academic excellence.

As the curtains drew to a close on the Annual Prize Distribution ceremony, the air resonated with applause and admiration for the exemplary achievements of the students. The event not only celebrated their triumphs but also served as a beacon of inspiration for future endeavors, reaffirming the college’s commitment to nurturing talent and fostering holistic growth.

dawn punjab
Author: dawn punjab

Leave a Comment